Parallels Desktop 8 for Mac is lets you seamlessly run Windows and Mac applications side-by-side

Login | Register

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

Thu Jul 01, 2010 12:37 pm

Offline
Joined: Thu Jul 01, 2010 12:27 pm
Posts: 2

When I opened up the VM fusion trial is stated that bootcamp was not there. But bootcamp was right on my desktop. So I figured I'd try to download it from the website. I did and when I opened it, the file said "bootcamp assistant" so I put the bootcamp assistant file in the bootcamp...thing...and VM still doesn't find my bootcamp...when I open my bootcamp icon this is what appears

>Applications
Bootcamp Assistant
Bootcamp Assistant Alias
>Desktop
>Library
Parallels Desktop [with the VM fusion logo]

Originally I had Parallels but when the filled up and mac had insufficient space to open it, and I could not get into delete it. I remember trying to uninstall parallels to get rid of everything...I still haven't quite figured out how to uninstall things on a mac [this computer isn't really for me but it's all I have right now and windows is my only hope for salvation in the gaming department at this point...not to mention I just bought a new video camera and it only works with windows...]

When I do get VM trial to run it tells me I need a boot up disk...which I don't have because it's a downloaded trial.
So I'm wondering if I've done something to my bootcamp...or some files are missing. Can anyone help me?
Would the genius bar at the mac store help at all? ...is so how much do you think it would cost?

*Note---I did try to organize things myself because I couldn't seem to find anything on this computer....so I'm thinking maybe I accidently moved something I shouldn't have moved.

Please help, it would be nice to try out VM Fusion before my thirty day trial is up!



Top Top
  Profile

Thu Jul 01, 2010 10:10 pm

Offline
Site Admin
Joined: Wed May 12, 2010 7:45 pm
Posts: 179

What seems to be missing here is Windows. Windows does not come with Boot Camp, and it does not come with VMware Fusion. You have to supply it.

When it is asking for a boot up disk, it probably means a Windows installation disc.

When VMware looks for Boot Camp, it needs pre-created Boot Camp partition with Windows installed.

If you still have the virtual machine (with Windows installed) from Parallels, VMware may be able to import it and convert it to the VMware format.

_________________
John Rizzo
MacWindows.com



Top Top
  Profile

Thu Jul 01, 2010 10:16 pm

Offline
Joined: Thu Jul 01, 2010 12:27 pm
Posts: 2

I'll try the first option, unfortunatly my parallels disk is available but the code to use it is not, and I can't find the software anywhere on my computer.



Top Top
  Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum


Search for:
Jump to:  

OS X Mountain Lion Server for Dummies
By John Rizzo

Simplifies the installation, configuration, and management of Apple's OS X Server software. Support Mac and Windows clients for file sharing, email, and directory services; Install software to your iOS devices and Macs. Incorporate a Mac subnet into a Windows Active Directory domain, manage Mac and Windows clients, and configure security options, and more. Click here for more.

Serving the cross-platform community since November 15, 1997. Copyright 2010-2013 John Rizzo. All rights reserved.
Powered by phpBB